Books, Reading, Reviewing

On Reviewing…

I’ve been thinking about what the future holds for the blog and some of the ideas I have had, I’m quite excited about. Although I’ve realised that to start off well, the foundations of the blog have to be right.

In my previous book blog, I realised that my book reviews were good, but lacked a scoring system. When reading book reviews, I’m not usually persuaded entirely by the review. In fact, if a novel has received a complete slating by a reviewer, that actually encourages me to read that novel so that I can make my own mind up about it. However, I do pay slight attention to a star system any review, it would certainly encourage me to read the rest of its contents.

So, that being said, here is my scoring system for any review of books, films or tv featured on the blog:

***** Loved it. Thoroughly recommended.

**** Enjoyed it, but not without faults.

*** It was ok. Neither good nor bad.

** Mildly enjoyable. Had elements which could have been improved.

* Hated this. Wouldn’t recommend.

Whilst I don’t expect everyone to agree with my reviews/ratings, (feel free to disagree, I love a discussion on books and films!) it’ll give you a good idea of what I think. I’ll also tag each book review not only by genre, but by ratings.

I’ll be posting a review tomorrow, so watch this space!

For those of you who review (books, films, tv etc) what’s your rating system? How much attention do you pay to reviews/ratings?

1 thought on “On Reviewing…”

Leave a Reply

