Ann Shreve, Books, First Paragraph Tuesday

First Chapter, First Paragraph Tuesday

‘First Chapter, First Paragraph Tuesday’ is hosted by ‘Bibliophile By The Sea’. Each week, I’ll share with you the first paragraph of a novel I’m currently reading or want to read in the future.

This week’s paragraph is from ‘Eden Close’ by Anita Shreve. I’ve read another Anita Shreve novel ‘Sea Glass’, you can find my review here.

‘The air lay as heavy as water in the square dark rooms of the farmhouse. The house was still, sounds indistinct and muffled, as if heard through cloth. Upstairs, in the boy’s room, the clock over the desk ticked away the minutes just past midnight. In the next room, where the boy’s parents slept, there was the soft rattle of an old fan, moving the thick air from outside the house to inside and over his parents’ bodies. As they had done nearly every hot night that summer, they had offered the fan to the boy, but the boy, aware that summer for the first time of his parent’s age, had refused to take it from them.’

Would you read on?

12 thoughts on “First Chapter, First Paragraph Tuesday”

  1. I have only read one book by this author and I really enjoyed it. I like the intro you shared, the description and the image it evokes in my mind. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read a coupe Shreves that I really enjoyed awhile back, but this intro didn’t really grab me. I’d probably continue a bit longer before deciding since it’s Shreve.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

