First Chapter, First Paragraph Tuesday

‘First Chapter, First Paragraph Tuesday’ is hosted by ‘Bibliophile By The Sea’. Each week, I’ll share with you the first paragraph of a novel I’m currently reading or want to read in the future.

This week’s paragraph is from ‘The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet’ by David Mitchell:

‘The House of Kawasemi the Concubine, above Nagasaki’. The Ninth Night of the Fifth Month.

‘Miss Kawasemi?’ Orito kneels on a stale and sticky futon. ‘Can you hear me?’

In the rice paddy beyond the garden, a cacophony of frogs detonates.  Orito dabs the concubine’s sweat-drenched face with a damp cloth.

‘She’s barely spoken,’ the maid holds the lamp ‘for hours and hours…’

‘Miss Kawasemi, my name’s Aibagawa. I’m a midwife. I want to help.’

Kawasemi’s eyes flicker open. She manages a frail sigh. Her eyes shut. She is too exhausted, Orito thinks, even to fear dying tonight.’

Would you continue reading?

5 responses to “First Chapter, First Paragraph Tuesday

  1. Ooh, I’m not sure….I do want to know what happens, though. Thanks for sharing. Here’s mine: “SMOKE”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Quite a dramatic opening. I’m drawn to books about midwives, and the Japanese setting would be interesting. Sounds like a good story.
    My Tuesday post features Skinny Dip

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I would have to read a bit more before deciding.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have heard some wonderful things about David Mitchell. I admit I am not sure about this one, but I am curious about it. I would want to know more, I think.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lovely descriptive writing! I’d keep reading.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

